top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Stel

I still appreciate you

My last post was pretty intense, but hey, I am allowed to put my emotions out there.

I may have sounded annoyed with the fact that people are asking if I am okay, but I do still appreciate it. Hopefully you all can better understand my frustration and appreciation after reading this.

A good friend made a good point to me, I can't expect people to act differently for the exact reason I want them to; they do not understand, but they want to show they care. Of course I do want acknowledgement, but be aware that in some cases reminding me of my past experiences can send me backwards with my progress of moving on. This is kind of a "one step forward, two steps back" situation. You all can understand and imagine some of the things I felt, like fear, pain, and nervousness. However, the most important thing to me is that you all understand that you still do not know my own personal experience and trying to make direct correlations is not going to work.

Please read my last post, and try to take my perspective, as I am trying to take yours in this post. There is a ton of discussion about how to handle situations exactly like these, but of course there is no correct way. I have seen so many articles and blurbs about how people with chronic illness or traumatic experiences struggle with how they are treated differently, which why I have written two whole posts about how hard it really is for both sides.

Showing you care is great, but it can be taxing on my emotions to have to keep reiterating how I am doing etc, because I am ready to move on. I hope you all can be ready to move on with me, because it is time.

Once again, I just want to be treated like you would treat anyone else.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Feeling it

At some point, the emotions do catch up to you. After surviving two days of surgery and months of physical recovery, my body and mind have finally started to fully process what actually happened to me

bottom of page